Anatomy Colleges Admissions
Anatomy Colleges FAQs
Anatomy Colleges Reference Books
Free Anatomy Course

Review: Introduction to the Digestive System

Here is what we have learned from Introduction to the Digestive System:

  • The digestive tract includes the digestive tract and its accessory organs, which process food into molecules that can be absorbed and utilized by the cells of the body.
  • Food undergoes three types of processes in the body: digestion, absorption, and elimination.
  • The digestive system prepares nutrients for utilization by body cells through six activities, or functions: ingestion, mechanical digestion, chemical digestion, movements, absorption, and elimination.
  • The wall of the digestive tract has four layers or tunics: mucosa, submucosa, muscular layer, and serous layer or serosa.
  • Regions of the digestive system can be divided into two main parts: alimentary tract and accessory organs.
  • The alimentary tract of the digestive system is composed of the mouth, pharynx, esophagus, stomach, small and large intestines, rectum and anus.
  • Associated with the alimentary tract are the following accessory organs: salivary glands, liver, gallbladder, and pancreas.


Go to the quiz if you want to test yourself on the material you learned in this section. The quiz is a self-assessment tool and no records are kept. The feedback will let you know if you have answered the questions correctly. You can take the quiz as many times as you want.

Click here to take the quiz.